AGIOS NIKOLAOS (ST. NICHOLAS) MONASTERY
Agios Nikolaos monastery, with its an elaborate architectural structure, is perfectly maintained. According to tradition, the monastery was built during the 11th century, while in 1760 extensive repairs were made. The monastery is fortified with high walls and the katholikon is cross-in-square type, two-columned with narthex and a dome. There are many chapels inside the monastery. Here are kept the relic skull of Saint Nicholas of Vounenois, the jawbone of St. Kosmas Aitolos, part of the skull of St. Joseph of Arimathea and many other relics. The Monastery was annex of “Filiki Eteria” and served as a printing and bindery house, as well as “Krifo scholio” (Secret School) during the Turkish occupation, due to its outermost location. Monastery’s iconostasis is unique and holy water spouts from the altar. The monastery’s wooden screen is superb, while there are also traces of frescoes.
Location: North of Apikia and before Vourkoti village, in a 10 km distance from Chora and 25 km from Batsi.
How to get there: Follow the road from Chora to Apikia and turn right after Apikia and before Vourkoti village. There are relevant road signs.
Contact Info: (+30) 22820 22190